Home » Hekani Jakhalu Become The First Female MLAs In Nagaland

Hekani Jakhalu Become The First Female MLAs In Nagaland

by Nidhi
0 comment
Hekani Jakhalu

Hekani Jakhalu, a member of The Nationalist Democratic Progressive Party (NDPP), created history when she was elected as the first woman to serve in the Nagaland Legislature, which has 60 members.

She won the 2023 Nagaland Assembly election in the Dimapur-III district. After victories in Dimapur-III and Western Angami, the Nationalist Democratic Progressive Party’s Hekani Jakhalu and Salhoutuonuo Kruse are given seats in the 60-member State Legislature.

She is elected for the Dimapur-III constituency for the ruling Nationalist Democratic Progressive Party (NDPP) by 1,536 votes over former Legislator Azheto Zhimomi of the Lok Janshakti Party.

In this election, there were 183 contestants, and she was one of four women. A few moments later, Salhoutuonuo Kruse, the second female candidate for the NDPP Party won the Western Angami seat by a narrow margin of seven votes over an Independent member Keneizhakho Nakhro.

Ms. Hekani Jakhalu stated that this victory is a win for her group and her supporters, she is thankful for the people who saw confidence in her.

She is a social activist and lawyer with formal expertise in the United States, credited her success to 17 years of volunteer work with YouthNet, the organization she formed to change the State through the empowerment of women and youngsters.

You may also like

Leave a Comment

Copyright @2022 – Scoop360 | All Right Reserved.